jump to navigation

What’s in a name November 4, 2011

Posted by aquillam in Uncategorized.
trackback

I started this blog in 2008, when I attended a workshop on web-based interactive tools for teaching. Really, it was a workshop on using wikis and blogs in teaching. As part of the workshop, we created accounts for several different sites and added a post or edited a wiki page or what-have-you. Using the defaults suggestions for each blog seemed like a good idea at the time.

A few months latter I realized I was going to keep using this blog. The name didn’t seem so great anymore, but if I was going to change it, it had to be something good.  Something that encompassed all the different things I put in this blog – science, astronomy, poetry, random comments that I think should matter to someone besides just me. It finally came to me as I was out the other night working in the garden. Still relatively early, the Sun had set and the stars were coming out. I was debating getting a lantern, when a gust of wind threw a scattering of dry leaves across the garden, which reminded me of Robert Frost’s “The Star Splitter.” Sometimes I think I live my life by this poem, always running a little late, with half a mind on the stars, and trying to remember that my answers are not my neighbor’s answer, and not to judge others too harshly for different values and priorities. Sometimes that requires a change it perspective. Maybe looking at something sideways.

So there it is, a better name.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

