jump to navigation

Still not doomsday April 21, 2011

Posted by aquillam in Astronomy.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I haven’t had any phone calls about the end of the world lately (actually, I haven’t had any phone calls all week. Maybe I should check my phone line.) However, I have seen a couple of headlines.

Thus I was somewhat relieved to see this pop out of the aether this afternoon. David Morrison  (who graciously started answering the “ask an astrobiologist” column a few years ago) explains why you should continue to make plans for the future that don’t involve underground bunkers and canned food.  Or at least why there is no astronomical reason not to make plans. If you enjoy underground bunkers and canned food, go right ahead.

http://www.csicop.org/specialarticles/show/will_comet_elenin_destroy_the_earth_this_year

In the meantime, I think we’re due for a good comet, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed that Elenin will be nice and bright latter this year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

