jump to navigation

Venus in the Galileoscope March 21, 2010

Posted by aquillam in Astronomy, Galileoscope, MichiganAstro.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The other night it was not only clear, I was also home early enough for Venus to be up  and my camera had charged batteries. So I set the Galileoscope out on the porch and tried to take a picture of Venus.

First, the un-magnified view.  Venus is the little dot above and to the right of the roof ridge.

The best picture through the Galileoscope:

Venus is in a gibbous phase, so it should look nearly round, though my inability to hold the camera still makes it a little rough.

My favorite picture though was this one

It’s such a perfect UFO picture! Or should that be IFO…

Comments»

1. I just saw Saturn! « The Quantum Lab - July 20, 2010

[…] a camera to the scope and shoot through its lens. I've got to give it a try. Thanks to Shannon for pointing this out.] Tags Galileoscope, Mars, Saturn, Venus Categories Amateur Astronomy […]

2. JT - July 18, 2010

Wow that’s cool! I just got a Galileoscope myself. How did you manage to take a picture with it?

aquillam - July 18, 2010

I have a small digital camera, which I held to the eyepiece. I find it works best if I have both the ‘scope and camera on a tripod. Otherwise, I have t takes a couple dozen images to get one good one.

JT - July 20, 2010

Thanks for the reply. I’ve got to try this next time I get a chance.

3. Amber - March 22, 2010

Nice picture through the Galileoscope! You can really see the gibbous phase and it gives you a good idea of the Galileoscope’s capabilities.


Leave a Reply

