jump to navigation

This ground is not for sweet potatoes April 14, 2009

Posted by aquillam in Astronomy, poetry, writing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Here is a poem I keep tweeking. It was originally written in October ’07, after I came in from digging the sweet potatoes. I am not planting sweet potatoes this year…

Oh, and just in case anyone thinks my astronomy is faulty (Orion isn’t up until almost midnight in October, too late for me to see what I’m doing in the garden), the last line is a refrence to The Star Splitter, by Robert Frost. Luckily, I don’t need to burn my house down for a telescope.

This ground is not for sweet potatoes

It rained today
So I wield my spade
Like a warrior’s weapon
I stomp down on the blade
It scrapes into the sodden compacted clay
	I turn the soil

The clouds glow pink over my head
Dark shadows lie on my garden
My breath steams in the twilight
As I bend to the Earth
	I turn the soil
and find
              a pice of broken orange pottery

Vega twinkles high in the west
Cassiopeia fades into view
I squint at the twilit earth
	I turn the soil
I find stones
     Worms
        grubs
            a chrysalis
	I turn the soil
At last I am rewarded
A slim orange tuber
The size of my thumb
Sliced neatly in two.

I sigh and look to the sky
Is that Orion coming up sideways?
Comments»

1. Katie - April 21, 2009

Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.


Leave a Reply

